Leggett Headlines 19 Total Track & Field All-Conference Honorees

Leggett Headlines 19 Total Track & Field All-Conference Honorees

ATLANTA — Berry College’s Genesis Leggett claimed her second career Southern Athletic Association (SAA) Women’s Field Athlete of the Year honor to lead 19 total Vikings track & field All-Conference winners.

The All-Conference Teams are decided by results at the SAA Championships. Winning an event earned automatic placement on the first team, whether done individually or on a relay team. A second place finish qualified student-athletes for placement on the second team while third place results garnered honorable mention status.


The Berry men’s track & field team collected a program-best 12 All-Conference honorees including first-team winners CJ Stone, Will Knowlton, Collin Mathis, Kelvin Wilson, Jordan Wilson and Tucker Smith. Second team honorees were Mitchell Brice and Jed Woodward. Nish Patel, Idris Mensa-Bonsu, Braden Jarvis and Dalton Sharpe rounded out the winners on the honorable mention team.

Stone, a senior from Conyers, Ga., was dominant at the SAA meet, claiming wins in the 100m, 200m. He also led the 4x100m relay team of freshmen Collin Mathis, Kelvin Wilson and Jordan Wilson to back-to-back titles.

The men’s 4x400m relay team of Stone, Jordan Wilson, Idris Mensa-Bonsu and Nish Patel claimed third.

Knowlton, a senior from Eugene, Ore., had a phenomenal race in the 1,500m, coming from behind in the final 200m to claim first place in the event.

Jordan Wilson, a freshman from Dallas, Ga., also earned second in the 200m and 400m.

Smith, a sophomore from Leesburg, Ga., led a Vikings onslaught in the men’s pole vault. He earned a first place finish in the event, followed by junior Mitchell Brice and freshman Braden Jarvis in second and third, respectively.

Woodward, a senior from Watkinsville, Ga., broke his own outdoor school record in the men’s Shot Put with a throw of 14.36m to finish SAA runner up for the second year in a row.

Also in throws, Sharpe, a junior from Armuchee, Ga., put in a strong performance in the men's javelin to earn third with a PR and NCAA DIII era record of 52.91m.


Led by Leggett’s major award, seven Vikings from the women’s team earned All-Conference honors. Leggett claimed the lone first-team spot, while Bethany Terpin, Kamman Brown and Alexa Bilsky earned second-team recognition. Meredith Herman, Kelley DeLacey and Rachel Bibbey earned honorable mention.

Leggett, a junior from Live Oak, Fla., won the women’s shot put with a new outdoor PR, breaking her school record in the process. She also claimed first in the hammer throw and was fourth in the discus.

Terpin, a senior from Watkinsville, Ga., finished second in the women’s 10,000m.

Brown, a freshman from Canton, Ga., became the first Berry women's athlete in the NCAA Division III earn All-SAA in the high jump, earning second place with a PR.

Bilsky, a senior from Peachtree City, Ga., finished second in the women's javelin for her fourth straight All-SAA honor.

Herman, a junior from Snellville, Ga., earned a third place finish in the women's 5,000m run with a PR of 18:29.16.

DeLacey, a senior from Jamesville, Md., finished in a podium spot 3rd in women’s pole vault

Bibbey, a junior from Fort Myers, Fla., claimed third in the women’s discus.