Berry Track & Field Earns 14 Total All-Conference Honorees

Berry Track & Field Earns 14 Total All-Conference Honorees

ATLANTA — After the conclusion of the 2018 Southern Athletic Association (SAA) Championships last weekend, the Berry track & field teams placed 14 total athletes on the SAA All-Conference teams. 

The All-Conference Teams are decided by results at the SAA Championships. Winning an event earned automatic placement on the first team, whether done individually or on a relay team. A second place finish in an event at the meet qualified student-athletes for placement on the second team while third place results garnered honorable mention status.


The Berry men's track & field team earned 10 All-Conference honorees including Derrell Mims, Mason Kinsey, Quincy Watford, CJ Stone and Tucker Smith who all earned first team recognition. Second team honorees include Rory Fleming, Mitchell Brice and Jed Woodward. Brayden Fulton and Ethan Caldwell rounded out Berry's All-Conference winners on the honorable mention team. 

Mims, Kinsey, Watford and Stone earned a first place finish in the men's 4x100m relay at the SAA Championship with a monstrous school-record time of 41.51. That time is currently third in all of NCAA Division III. 

Smith, a freshman from Leesburg, Ga., earned first team honors after taking the top spot in the men's pole vault with a 4.62m mark in the finals. He was followed by Mitchell Brice, a sophomore from Suwanee, Ga., who earned second with a 4.24m and Ethan Caldwell, a junior from Ephesus, Ga., who took third in the event. 

Fleming, a senior from Newport Beach, Calif., took second team honors after runner-up finishes in both the 110m (15.80) and 400m (55.96) hurdles. Both times set new school records.

Woodward, a junior from Watkinsville, Ga., earned second in the men's shot put with a personal best throw of 13.91m. 

Fulton, a sophomore from Sevierville, Tenn., wrapped up Berry's honorees after earning third in the men's 800m with a time of 1:55.79.


The women's team earned four All-Conference honorees including Alainna Chretien who took the lone first team spot for the Vikings. She is joined by Meredith Herman and Rachel Bibbey who earned second team recognition. Alexa Bilsky took honorable mention recognition. 

Chretien, a senior from Savannah, Ga., took first in the women's 1,500m run with a personal record time of 4:44.75. She also followed her performance with a second place finish in the 800m. 

Herman, a sophomore from Snellville, Ga., earned second place in the women's 3,000m steeplechase with a time of 11:10.99.

Bibbey, a sophomore from Fort Myers, Fla., took the runner-up spot in the women's discus with a finals toss of 39.19m.

Bilsky, a junior from Peachtree City, Ga., wrapped up the women's honorees with a third place finish in the women's javelin after a 40.10m toss.