12 Berry Tennis Student-Athletes Earn ITA Academic Awards

12 Berry Tennis Student-Athletes Earn ITA Academic Awards

TEMPE, Ariz. — Both the Berry College men's and women's tennis teams have been selected as 2017 All-Academic Teams by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA), the organization announced on Tuesday.

In addition, 12 individual student-athletes were recognized for individual academic awards. 

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2016 and spring 2017).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

The full list of Berry's honorees can be found below:


Daniel Alligood

Matt Johnson

Ryan Miner

Griffin Davis

Matt Blakely


Mary Cerny

Emmie Cornell

Lauren Byrket

Valerie DeWandel

Karleigh Dills

Sage Havrilla

Sydney Stone